OCHEA celebrated its 15th birthday this year, led by President Carol Ventresca (The Ohio State University). Michael Ketterick (Cuyahoga Community College) was elected President-elect. Remaining on the Executive Board for another year were Henry Trenkelbach, Paul Parlato, John Kengla, and Eloise Lafferty. Angela McCutcheon (Washington State Community College) was elected Vice-President for Community and Technical Colleges. Dennis Ulrich (Kent State Geauga) was elected Vice-President for Branch and Regional Campuses, but resigned early in the year due to a promotion to the Kent main campus. The vice-presidency was vacant most of the year.

Chairing the Association’s committees were Susan Berry (Washington State Community College), Awards and Honors; Barbara Hanniford (Kent State University), Communications; Claude Paumier (Stark State College of Technology), Community and Government Relations; Kathi Albertson (Ohio University Zanesville) and Nanciann Rosier (Ohio University Lancaster), Conference; Jim Vondrell (University of Cincinnati), Constitution and Bylaws; Julie Mitchell (University of Dayton) and Joan Roettger (The Ohio State University), Membership; Annette Staunton (Tiffin University), Nominations and Elections; Jan Peterson (Bowling Green State University) and Margaret Katzan (University of Toledo), Site Selection; and Barb Mackey (Wittenberg University), Special Interest Groups. Marilyn Bokrass (Kent State University) served as historian.

During this year, the Community and Governmental Relations Committee underwent a major change in emphasis, moving away from community relations and focusing upon governmental resources and information sharing. The committee was renamed the Legislative Awareness Committee. The SIG committee coordinated the newly developed professional development one-day workshops and sponsored two programs: “Marketing” with Joanne Alexander Brown and “Workforce Development” with representatives of federal and state labor offices.

“Celebrating OCHEA: Growing as Collaborators, Entrepreneurs and Educators” was the theme of the annual conference held at beautiful Cherry Valley Lodge in Newark. Keynote presenters were Kurt D. Southam and Gifford Pinchot. With a proclamation from the Governor, OCHEA had a 15th birthday party. At the conference, Service to the association awards were presented to Barbara Mackey and Kathleen Albertson. The OLLO was awarded to Carol Fasig, The Ohio State University-Lima. Receiving Program Excellence awards were Matthew Isaac and Carrie Herr of the University of Toledo and Dennis Ulrich of Kent State University. A Special Achievement Award was presented to Michael Taggart, representing Enterprise Ohio and the Ohio Board of Regents.