Michael Ketterick (Cuyahoga Community College) became President of OCHEA to begin our 16th year. Joining him on the Executive Board were: Russ O’Neill (The University of Akron Wayne College), President-Elect; Henry Trenkelbach (Kent State University), Treasurer, and Marcia McBride (John Carroll University), Secretary. Serving as constituency vice-presidents were Cheryl Reindl-Johnson (Miami University Middletown), Branch and Regional Campuses; Ann Sklut (Belmont Technical College), Community and Technical Colleges; Barbara Hoskins (University of Cincinnati), Public Colleges; and Barbara Mackey, (Wittenberg University), Private Colleges and Universities.

Serving the Association as committees chairpersons were Susan Berry (Washington State Community College), Awards and Honors; Robin Imbrigiotta (Cuyahoga Community College), Communications; Claude Paumier (Stark State College of Technology), Legislative Awareness; Karen House (Miami University Hamilton) and Mary Kay Meyer (Xavier University), Conference; Jim Vondrell (University of Cincinnati), Constitution and Bylaws; Angela McCutcheon (Washington State Community College), Information Resources; Julie Mitchell (University of Dayton) and Joan Roettger (The Ohio State University), Membership; Annette Staunton (Tiffin University), Nominations and Elections; and Jan Peterson (Bowling Green State University) and Margaret Katzan (University of Toledo), Site Selection. Marilyn Bokrass (Kent State University) continued to serve as historian.

Several new initiatives highlighted this year. The Research and Data Collection Committee became the Information Resources Committee, whose main project during the year was the study of and eventual beginning of an OCHEA web site. Workshops were organized for frontline staff members of our continuing education offices. Focusing on customer service and problem solving, workshops were held during the summer at Baldwin Wallace College and Otterbein College. Response to his first effort was most encouraging. “Building a Collaborative Workforce” was the subject of the professional development day. Facilitated by Bob McElwee, the program was held at Roscoe Village and attracted 31 members. The Private Colleges and Universities one-day workshop on “Changing Definitions of Quality and Standards” held in November at Otterbein.

Due to job changes, three new vice-presidents joined the Executive Board during the year. Geri Ash Grove (Kent State University) replaced Barbara Hoskins, Francis Sebring (Belmont Technical College) replaced Ann Sklut and Debbie Ruhe (Kent State Stark) replaced Cheryl Reindl-Johnson.

The 1999 annual conference was held at the Cincinnati Marriott Northeast and was co-sponsored by region VI of ACHE and the Great Lakes region of LERN. The theme was “Continuing Education, Showcasing our Past. . . Sharing our Present . . . Shaping our Future.” 109 conference registrants heard keynote addresses by Williams Draves, President of LERN, and Jack Ricchuito. Chancelor Roderick Chu of the Ohio Board of Regents also addressed the assembly.

1999 OLLO awards were presented to Jane Cavanaugh (Baldwin Wallace College) and Barbara Hoskins (University of Cincinnati). Recognized for service to the Association were Eloise Lafferty (University of Akron), Julie Mitchell (University of Dayton), and Carol Ventresca (The Ohio State University). Program Excellence Awards were presented to Russ O’Neill (University of Akron Wayne College) and Lori Gourley (NEOUCOM/Kent State University).